EMERGE: Week 2

Standard

This week we have been staying in touch through the Facebook group and keeping on track with Wunderlist as well as collaborating with Google Docs. We finished off the written portion of our Semester Plan and me and two of my team mates submitted concepts and sketches of how we wanted it to look.

In addition to that we have been asked to give our feedback on some graphic design requests for the Emerge Media Awards. We were also asked for some assistance in fixing some issues with the design of some of the projects.

Lastly, we are all putting together a draft for the Design Package of what we think EMERGE as a whole should look like. We will probably be deciding either monday or Tuesday what we like, what we can tweak or build on, and what we will go with as a preliminary package to give to other groups to start working.

My biggest challenges for this week have been finding the time to get everything done between my internship and work and EMERGE and sports and friends. Also, I have been having major connection issues at home which has made it difficult to stay updated with the team and be able to communicate with them. Also in terms of communication issues, I am having a hard time connecting with other teams during class times (that are not necessarily coming to us for meetings) because our sessions with our mentor run so long. I was at school until 11pm last tuesday working on EMERGE stuff and introducing myself to any other groups that had stayed around after class. I have a tendency to want to do it all and I am trying very hard to keep it that way. However, come March I think I will be completely burned out.

For next week I hope to have a more finalized version of the design package and a better idea of the theme or direction journalists are hoping to achieve for the magazine. I’d also like to have a sit-down with the web teams (since that seems to be where my specialty is within my team) and see where they’re hoping to go with their projects.

Leave a comment